I recently had the pleasure of reading Full-Frontal Nerdity, which was recommended to me by a colleague.  The book left me with the amazing feeling that I had been understood by a person who I’d never met, and that this person had understood things I didn’t know I couldn’t say. This book was well worth the read, and I am unashamed to say that I read it twice. Then, I had the pleasure of interviewing the author K.S. Wiswell (you can read the full interview here), which was as delightful a conversation as reading her book. 

Fun For Everyone

The book, Full-Frontal Nerdity, is 178 pages of quirky, fun, and insightful personal essays, journal entries, and old blog posts. This anthology features a commencement, four sections, and an extra credit. There are a grand total of 27 personal essays, blog posts, journal entries, and 1 poem that make up this diverting read. It’s clever, insightful and leaves its readers with new insights into age-old subjects.

The four sections found in Full-Frontal Nerdity are all titled with a general theme, and each of the entries provides unique and varied views on the general subject. The commencement and extra credit don’t really fit into any of the generic themes that apply to the sections. However, I don’t think that the book would be complete without those additions. The whole book reads less like an anthology, blog, or journal and more like your quirky friend’s handbook for life.

Full-Frontal Nerdity is all about embracing being a nerd and making sense of what being a smart, witty, sexy, weirdo actually means. The book covers everything a growing nerd needs to understand, from fractals, love, quantum theory, friendship, and philosophy and their intersection with anime, Star Wars, comics, and gaming. The full title, Full-Frontal Nerdity: Lessons in Loving and Living with Your Brain, is a perfect summation of what we all strive for, baring ourselves and learning to love and accept exactly who you are.

Surprising Insights

This was a book that I didn’t even know I wanted. But apparently, I actually wanted someone to explain my love life in mathematic equations, Bayesian philosophy, and animal husbandry. Full- Frontal Nerdity made me laugh out loud and gave me the righteous feeling of being understood by giving voice to feelings I couldn’t describe myself.

If you are the type of person who likes to laugh out loud, feels confused by your own emotions, and find yourself languishing in the struggle of people not understanding how weird you are, Full- Frontal Nerdity is the book for you. It is a great read, and I highly recommend this book or the author herself enough. This is an enjoyable way to spend your day, and you’ll more than likely learn something about yourself in doing so.

Here is one of my favorite lines from the book:

Interested? You can buy the book here.

surely there are more types of friendship than just “new”

and “old.” In my experience, the flavors of friendship are as

distinctive and varied as the elements themselves.”

Verdict: A Delightful Read worth purchasing!

Full-Frontal Nerdity: Lessons in Loving and Living with Your Brain Review

  • Funny

  • Insightful

  • Clever

Your Rating:User Rating: